These are the 22 apps Android users are being warned to delete over “clickfraud” fears.

Posing as normal Google Play Store apps, these apps are performing criminal actions in the background leaving phone owners none the wiser.

Birmingham Live reports research conducted by Sophos has identified the 22 apps which collectively have been downloaded more than 22million times by device owners.

Researchers explained: “The only effects a user might notice is that the apps would use a significantly greater amount of data, at all times, and consume the phone’s battery power at a more rapid rate that the phone would otherwise require.

“Because consumers would not be able to correlate these effects to the apps themselves, their Play Market reviews for these apps showed few negative comments.”

These are the apps you should uninstall right now:

  • Sparkle FlashLight – com.sparkle.flashlight
  • Snake Attack – com.mobilebt.snakefight
  • Math Solver – com.mobilebt.mathsolver
  • ShapeSorter – com.mobilebt.shapesorter
  • Tak A Trip – com.takatrip.android
  • Magnifeye – com.magnifeye.android
  • Join Up – com.pesrepi.joinup
  • Zombie Killer – com.pesrepi.zombiekiller
  • Space Rocket – com.pesrepi.spacerocket
  • Neon Pong – com.pesrepi.neonpong
  • Just Flashlight – app.mobile.justflashlight
  • Table Soccer – com.mobile.tablesoccer
  • Cliff Diver – com.mobile.cliffdiver
  • Box Stack – com.mobile.boxstack
  • Jelly Slice – net.kanmobi.jellyslice
  • AK Blackjack – com.maragona.akblackjack
  • Color Tiles – com.maragona.colortiles
  • Animal Match – com.beacon.animalmatch
  • Roulette Mania – com.beacon.roulettemania
  • HexaFall – com.atry.hexafall
  • HexaBlocks – com.atry.hexablocks
  • PairZap – com.atry.pairzap


File photo dated 11/10/14 of a woman using a mobile phone. A fifth of British adults now spend more than 40 hours a week online and most say they are dependent on their digital devices, according to Ofcom findings. PRESS ASSOCIATION Photo. Issue date: Thursday August 2, 2018. A decade of technological revolution has transformed the behaviour of Britons, who now need constant connection to the internet and check their smartphones on average every 12 minutes of the waking day, the regulator’s annual Communications Market Report said. See PA story CONSUMER Online. Photo credit should read: Lauren Hurley/PA Wire

It comes months after it emerged over 140 apps downloaded from Google Play Store contain malicious files designed to attack computers.

The malware affects PCs when a phone is plugged into a Windows PC, and it farms private data, according to LincolnshireLive.

But it will not affect the Android devices themselves according to the Mail Online .

If a computer is infected with the virus then credit card numbers, passwords and social security numbers can be collected because the malware tracks keystrokes.

The apps are no longer available on the Play Store but may still be on some phones. The apps infected have been downloaded since October 2017.

Google was notified of the flaw by Palo Alto Networks.

They discovered not all the apps from the same developer had the same Windows files.

This means the researchers believe different computers were used when creating the codes of the apps – and some of these were infected with malware.

Users who have downloaded any of the files via the Android app and connected to a computer may be infected.

Anyone with any of these apps on their phones should delete them to avoid infection.

Here are the apps that have been affected:

  • Baby Room
  • MotorTraiL
  • Tattoo Name
  • Car garage
  • Japanese Garden
  • House Terrace
  • Skirt Design
  • Yoga Meditation
  • Shoe rack
  • Unique T-shirt
  • Mens Shoes
  • TV RuanG TaMu
  • Idea Glasses
  • Fashion Muslim
  • Bracelet
  • Clothing Drawing
  • Minimalist Kitchen
  • Nail Art
  • Ice cream stick
  • Roof
  • Children Clothes
  • Home Ceiling
  • PoLa BaJu
  • Living room
  • Bookshelf
  • Knitted Baby
  • Hair Paint
  • Wall Decoration
  • Painting Mahendi
  • Bodybuilder
  • Couple shirts
  • Unique Graffiti
  • Paper flower
  • Night gown
  • Wardrobe Ideas
  • Dining table
  • Gymnastics
  • Use Child
  • Window Design
  • Hijab StyLe
  • Wing Chun
  • Fencing Technique



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here